Naltrexone

Another Holiday and a new excuse to get drunk…amirightoramiright??? Blah! Every time this season comes around I make so many promises to myself. I promise myself I will only have a little to drink with dinner (yeah fucking right) or I will just get plastered the night before so I will be too sick to drink the day of or-OR my ultimate favorite, just get shit faced and make an ass out of yourself, they have to keep loving you right??? Your family! I will give you one guess which one I chose…Get wasted prior and during. Logical decisions right? The only problem is I feel like absolute garbage for all family events and the whole not drinking that day due to feeling like a big ole turd turns into drinking just to feel human again. This year was no different, I decided to get wasted both families thanksgiving as to absolutely miss everything fun about the holidays and then wallow in shame in bed trying to nurse my hangover…So much for a 4 day weekend.

So I am trying something new and something that scares the shit out of me.

Hellllllooooo Naltrexone.

IMG_0458.JPGOk, so quick overview. I was listening to a radio lab on NPR and heard this one episode called “The Fix” It was about this doctor that was pretty much ready to kill himself because his addiction was so strong (I am sure many of you can relate) anyways I can’t remember the exact combination he took but I think it consisted of Baclofen and something else, just listen to the episode here: http://www.radiolab.org/story/addiction/ it will make much better sense then me trying to remember the details.

Long story short he took these drugs and at some point was cured. Like never wanted alcohol again!!! LIKE IM SORRY, COME AGAIN?!? NEVER WANTED ALCOHOL AGAIN!

Anywho, I found a local psychiatrist that prescribes some of the other drugs out there that treat addiction (who knew these existed???? FUCK all you other drug counselors out there that never gave me options) I met with her and she basically was like you are an amazing candidate for this. She prescribed me Naltrexone and Baclofen. I haven’t taken the Baclofen yet as she said it is for anxiety and since I am basically a human ball of anxiety and I am not sure if I want to be medicated all the time I am going with one drug at a time. Also drugs scare the living bejeezus out of me, I know, makes no sense I will drink myself into a coma but taking a Tylenol takes some serious decision making (I would absolutely love to see an MRI of my brain)

So, I have Naltrexone and I have taken two doses so far. I can’t say I feel any differently other than yesterday I kind of wanted to stop at the store for a bottle or 4 of wine but it passed really quickly and my mind kind of went we should get wine, nah…ok.  I have to go get blood work done and see her once or twice a month for actual therapy sessions but so far so good. I will follow up with my experience. So stay posted!

Leave a comment