The Cost of Naltrexone

Why are mornings so hard to wake up. I have tried my whole life to become a morning person but everyday that alarm clock rings all I want to do is throw it against the wall and stay in bed all day long!

When I started my research into Naltrexone and Vivitrol I had a hard time finding any useful information regarding cost. I have had the misfortune of showing up to a doctors office expecting one thing and ending up with a huge bill that had to be payed in full before I could leave so being prepared was a crucial piece for me. I have health insurance and I would say its pretty decent health insurance, buuuttttt apparently mental health is not really a priority since they really don’t cover anything regarding my psychiatrist appointment. I spent $300 just for the initial visit which was a 2 hour visit and included a urinalysis (for drug testing) and a breathalyzer. She sent me home with an order form to get blood work done but I have not done that yet so I am not sure what that will cost out of pocket. She gave me two diagnosis to try to use to submit my own claim, she said sometimes they pay on one but not the other so I submitted the alcoholism diagnosis and it was denied so I think I am going to try the severe anxiety diagnosis. My insurance covered m=the medication and I ended up spending $10 on a month worth of Naltrexone and $10 on the Baclofen. She didnt really discuss Vivitrol injection and I assume that Vivitrol is more for people that will skip out on taking the Naltrexone. I know she did mention that the Vivitrol injection is super expensive so if you are willing to take the drugs daily then thats the better option.

Costs will obviously vary if you have a different insurance or see a different level of psychiatrist. Overall I see it as an investment into my health and wellness. It seems like a small price to pay for keeping my family and life together although it is really a fucking bummer how expensive it is to get help. It really opens my eyes to the reasons why there are so many people out there that don’t get proper mental health treatment. All in all I am out $320 and I am supposed to go back to see her this week and I believe that will cost $150. She did mention she would try to work with me on cost because who in the world could spend 150$ a week on therapy!

Anywho hope this helps you decide on a treatment that is right for you. I would say paying that money really sucks but when I calculate the weekly wine tab including poor money decision making that goes along with it I am on the winning side.

Leave a Reply

